Connect with us


Governor Makinde Swears-in Seven New Commissioners


Governor Makinde Swears-in Seven New Commissioners

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State, has sworn in seven new commissioners, charging them to remain on the path of sustainable development in the state.

According to reports, the seven commissioners were re-appointed from the list of 17 former commissioners sacked by the governor on June 28.

The reappointed commissioners include Ministry of Finance, Akinola Ojo; Ministry of Justice, Oyelowo Oyewo; Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters, Bayo Lawal and Ministry of Public Works and Transport, Dawood Sangodoyin.

Others are Ministry of Establishment and Training, Ayansiju Lawal; Ministry of Energy, Nurudeen Ashamu and Ministry of Special Duties, Mrs Faosat Sanni.

Mr Makinde, in his remarks, urged them to rededicate themselves to their respective positions.

According to him, the commissioners have presented their respective score cards before the state House of Assembly, which are prerequisites to their reappointment.

The governor urged the commissioners to assess themselves in order to serve the people of the state better.

He also urged them not to relent from the high standard they were being rated but should keep raising the bar.

“Even, when I’m holding you accountable to a very high standard, it is because some of you will go beyond this post to something higher,” he added.

Mr Makinde used the occasion to reiterate the commitment of his administration to provide good governance that would improve the living standard of the people.

According to him, the other commissioners would be announced within the next few weeks.

Speaking to newsmen, on behalf of the appointees, the Commissioner for Establishment and Training, Ayansiju Lawal, promised that they would perform optimally in their respective ministries.

Mr Lawal, in his remarks, thanked the governor for counting them worthy for reappointment, pledging that they would not disappoint the Makinde-led administration.

The Highlight of the occasion was the administering of Oath of Allegiance and Oath of Office as Commissioners by the Director of Cabinet Protocol in the Governor’s Office, Olajumoke Adebusuyi.

The governor had on Monday sent the list of the seven commissioners to the State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation, which the assembly did at its plenary on Thursday.


Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in News



To Top
slot="4644831179" data-auto-format="rspv" data-full-width="">