Connect with us


Adeleke Sacks 12,000 Newly Recruited Workers in Osun


Adeleke Sacks 12,000 Newly Recruited Workers in Osun

Osun State governor, Senator Nurudeen Jackson Ademola Adeleke, has sacked no fewer than 12,000 newly recruited workers into the state public service in the twilight of the last administration of former Governor Adegboyega Oyeto­la.

Governor Adeleke in six executive orders issued on Monday also suspended three traditional rulers installed by the last administration.

One of the traditional rulers is Adegboyega Famodun, the state chairman of the All Pro­gressives Congress (APC), who was installed the Owa of Igbajo less than 72 hours to the end of Oyetola’s administration.

Other traditional rulers af­fected by the executive order is­sued by Governor Adeleke are Oba Yinusa Akadiri and Aree of Iree, Oba Ademola Oluponle.

Already, the appointment of the monarchs had generated crisis which resulted in killing and burning of houses includ­ing the palace of Akinrun.

The governor ordered the traditional rulers to vacate their palaces with immediate effect and mandated security agencies to take over the palac­es and maintain law and order.

The governor also nullified the appointment of 30 perma­nent secretaries and suspended the chairman and members of Osun State Independent Elec­toral Commission (OSIEC).

A statement by the Secre­tary to Osun State Govern­ment (SSG), Tesleem Igbalaye, on Monday stated that the new governor signed the executive orders which covered chief­taincy matters, appointments issues, setting up of review panel, staff audit and employ­ment matters.

The statement read: “All employments in the service of Osun State government made in any capacity into any capacity in all the ministries, departments, agencies, commissions, boards and parastatals after July 17th, 2022, be and are hereby nullified.

“All appointments of tra­ditional rulers made by Osun State government after 17th July, 2022, are hereby ordered to be reviewed to ensure there was strict compliance with due process of chieftaincy declara­tions and native law, custom and tradition relating to such chieftaincies. In the case of Ikirun, Iree and Igbajo, to avoid further breakdown of law and order, the appointments of Akinrun of Ikinrun, Aree of Ire and Owa of Igbajo are here­by put on hold pending review. Subsequently, the palaces of Akinrun of Ikirun, Aree of Iree and Owa of Igbajo should remain unoccupied, while security agencies are hereby ordered to take charge.”

Osun immediate past Gov­ernor Adegboyega Oyetola employed over 12,000 workers and appointed 30 permanent secretaries.

Chairman and members of disbanded Osun State Inde­pendent Electoral Commission (OSIEC) are Mr. Segun Oladi­tan, Yusuf Oyeniran, Suibat Adubi, Prince Yinka Ajiboye, Abosede Omibeku, Dosu Gidig­bi, and Wahab Adewoyin.

The statement noted that the suspension was a sequel to several petitions bordering on financial impropriety, derelic­tion of duty, absenteeism and abuse of office against the said chairman and members of the commission.

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in News



To Top
slot="4644831179" data-auto-format="rspv" data-full-width="">