Connect with us


Protest in Osun over tribunal judgment nullifying Adeleke’s election as governor


Protest in Osun over tribunal judgment nullifying Adeleke’s election as governor

Supporters of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Friday stormed major streets in Osogbo to express dissatisfaction over the Election Petitions Tribunal Judgment that disqualified Governor Ademola Adeleke.

The protesters were in their hundreds, carrying placards with different inscriptions and chanting anti-opposition songs with long queue of campaign vehicles across the streets.

The inscription on placards are: “We say no to APC in Osun,” “Tribunal Panel is not fair,” “Don’t Dash our peoples mandates,” “Olorunda Local Government says no to tribunal judgment,” among other inscription.

Also, most roads leading to the popular Olaiya junction and Old garage were blocked by the protesters, showing their grievances leading to heavy gridlock.

Speaking with some of the protesters at the Olaiya junction, they said their mandate was taken away from them in a repetition of what transpired in 2018 election.

Taiwo Akinyele, said he was not happy with the Tribunal’s judgment in spite of the fact that the evidence before the court was clear that Governor Adeleke won the election.

Mr Akinyele decried the attitude of the Tribunal Chairman, Justice Tertsea Kume, who gave a different judgment in spite of all evidence against the petitioners.

He expressed optimism that his party (PDP) would retrieve its mandate at the Court of Appeal in Akure in due course.

“It is just a matter of time. We have been deceived and denied of our mandate. Osun people are tired of APC for all their harsh policies. I know God will intervene,” he said.

The police in Osun has warned against a breakdown of law and order, and vowed to ensure the peace of the state.

Police personnel and other sister agencies were seen patrolling major roads to ensure there was no breakdown of law and order. 

Recall that Gboyega Oyetola of APC and immediate past governor of the state had challenged the Independent National Electoral Commissions (INEC) declaration of Ademola Adeleke of PDP as winner of the election.

Mr Oyetola and the APC had on August 5, 2022, filed a petition before the tribunal in Osogbo, challenging the election results from 749 polling units across 10 LGAs, alleging over-voting.

INEC had declared Mr Adeleke winner of the election, having polled 403,271 votes against 375,027 polled by Mr Oyetola.

In the judgment delivered by the Tribunal Chairman, Justice Kume, on Friday, he upheld that the July 16, 2022 governorship election did not comply with the Electoral Act, noting that there was indeed over voting in six local government areas in Osun.

The tribunal chairman declared Mr Oyetola as winner of the July 16, 2022, governorship election.


Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in News



To Top
slot="4644831179" data-auto-format="rspv" data-full-width="">